Terminology for the World of Online Marketing

Marketing is one of the oldest and most prestigious fields in existence and like just about everything else in the world it has taken on a whole new dynamic with the proliferation of the internet. Online marketing has practically become its own entity apart from traditional marketing, and as such, there is just as much competition among internet marketers as there has always been among offline marketers.

With that in mind, the ongoing emergence of brand awareness among online marketers has spawned new terminology specific to this expanding profession. Digital marketing is what many in the field are calling a “brave new world” and with that new world comes a new vocabulary that marketers need to be familiar with.

Online Presence – This term refers to all of the locations online where a particular business or brand can be found. Establishing this presence is one of the most important elements of marketing in the new millennium. Establishing and maintaining a strong online presence is key to staying ahead of the competition.

Remarketing – This term describes the act of carrying out some level of follow-up with customers who have interacted with your brand online in some way, shape, or form. This kind of follow-up can come in the form of sending out emails or text messages in order to develop brand loyalty among a company’s customer base.

CAC – This is an acronym for Customer Acquisition Cost and it is a reference to the amount of money that a company spends to acquire a new customer. For instance, a company that spends $500 on marketing efforts that yield two new customers has a CAC on that campaign of $250.

Keeping up with the world of online marketing means knowing the nomenclature and being aware that it is integral to the business of marketing. These and many other terms are used regularly in internet marketing, and more terms are being added to this unique vocabulary list all the time.